Gala Night Guest Profiles

Prof. Patrick Utomi


Prof. Patrick Utomi, also known as Pat, serves as Vice Chairman of Bank PHB plc. Prof. Utomi serves as a Director of Mutual Benefits Assurance Plc. He is a Member of Advisory Board of CBO Investment Management. He has served in senior positions in government, as an adviser to the President of Nigeria, the private sector, as Chief Operating Officer for Volkswagen of Nigeria and in academia.

Prof. Utomi co-founded the Lagos Business School in 1994. He has also served as the Chairman of the Economic Commission for the Niger Delta. Prof. Utomi has served on the Council of key apex private sector associations including the Lagos Chamber of Commerce, The National Council of the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria and the Nigerian Consultative Association (NECA).

He is a professor of political economy, a management expert and a Nigerian entrepreneur. He obtained a first class degree in mass communications at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, UNN. Prof. Utomi also holds an MA, MPA, and Ph.D in political economy.



Dr. Obiageli “Oby” Ezekwesili

Dr. Obiageli “Oby” Ezekwesili is the former Vice President World Bank. She began her career as an auditor and management consultant with Deloitte & Touché. She served as one of the founding Directors of Transparency International as Director for Africa from 1994-1999. She worked with Professor Jeffrey Sachs as the Director of the Harvard – Nigeria Economic Strategy program between 2000 and 2002 during which time she was also appointed as an aide to President Obasanjo.

In the aftermath of the nearly 300 mainly Christian girls were abducted from Chibok by the Islamist militant group Boko Haram. Ezekwesili was instrumental to the start of the viral #BringBackOurGirls campaign on social media which trended internationally. She had on April 23 at the opening ceremony for a UNESCO event honouring the city of Port Harcourt as the 2014 World Book Capital City, urged Nigerians to not just tweet but actively participate in efforts to “bring back our girls”.


Femi-Gbajabiamila 2

Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila

Minority Leader National House of Assembly

Femi Gbajabiamila was born on 25 June 1962. He is a Nigerian lawyer, All Progressive Congress (APC) Leader, and Minority Leader in the House of Representatives of Nigeria. Gbajabiamila attended Igbobi College, Yaba, Lagos, University of Lagos, King William’s College on the Isle of Man, United Kingdom, John Marshall Law School in Chicago, Illinois, United States. When he came back to Nigeria, He joined politics and was elected to the House in 2003, re-elected in 2007 and again in 2011.

He is representing Surulere 1 Federal constituency of Lagos State in the House of Representatives.

Femi is a highly respected legislator and leader in the Nigerian Parliament. He has earned his stripes by being able to adeptly craft a beautiful mélange of passion and courage of conviction in the way he brilliantly puts forward arguments and ultimately discharges his duties.



Hon. Abike Dabiri-Erewa

Chairperson house committee on Diaspora affairs

A firm believer in the importance of service to humanity, Hon. Abike Dabiri-Erewa voluntarily retired from the services of the Nigerian Television Authority to contest as a member of the House of Representative and swept the poll with a landslide victory.

While in the House, Hon. Abike Dabiri-Erewa distinguished herself by working tirelessly and was one of the lawmakers that stood against the third term bid of former President Olusegun Obasanjo.

In her Second term in office she was the Chairman, House Committee on Diaspora Affairs, a new Committee with the challenge of ensuring that Nigerians in Diaspora are integrated into developmental activities of their motherland. During the last general election Hon Abike Dabiri-Erewa was re-elected for a third term and she will be a worthy representative.


Dr. Sam Amadi

Dr. Sam Amadi

Executive Chairman, Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC)

Dr. Sam Amadi was inaugurated by President Goodluck Jonathan on the 22nd of December, 2010 alongside six other commissioners (drawn from six geo-political zones of the country), after which he resumed office as Executive Chairman of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC).

 A 1992 Law graduate of the University of Calabar, he acquired a PhD and LL.M in 2004 and 2001 respectively from the prestigious Harvard Law School, Cambridge – Massachusetts. He also holds an M.P.A from the Kennedy School of Government, Harvard, and Cambridge – Massachesetts.

He is an executive council member of the African Forum of Utility Regulators (AFUR)and Member of the Advisory Council of Global Electricity Initiative.Other memberships include the European Regional Regulatory Authority (ERRA) and Renewable Energy & Energy Efficiency Partnership (REEEP).



Governor Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi

Executive Governor of Rivers State

Rt. Hon. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi was born May 27, 1965, in a small village known as Umuordu-Ubima in Ikwerre ethnic nationality of the present Ikwerre Local Government area of Rivers State, Nigeria. Endowed with high intelligence and a fertile mind, he started his primary education at St. Theresa’s Primary School, Ubima, where he obtained his first school leaving certificate in 1976. He later attended the Government Secondary School, Okolobiri, (now in Bayelsa State) where he sat and passed his West African School Certificate Examinations in 1982. Thereafter, he gained admission into the University of Port Harcourt and graduated in 1987 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English. He later obtained a Masters degree in English from the same university.

He is deeply involved in the activities of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association and has attended several of its programmes in its headquarters in London. He is a member of the National Stakeholders Working Group of the Nigeria Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative (NEITI), a body constituted by the President and Commander-in-Chief of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. He was the Chairman of Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures of Nigeria, a position he held for a record two terms.

Follow Us